New iPod, or fix the old one?

So…I’ve been having some ongoing issues with my current iPod video (30gb model to be specific.) First, I was having difficulties transferring files to it, although this turned out to just be a bad cable. The second problem, however, turned out to be much more serious. You see, iPods are designed to be replaced every 2 or so years. This bothers me for a number of reasons, not the least of which is just pure waste. My iPod battery life had been getting shorter and shorter, but since I usually only use it at the gym for 45 minutes or so, this didn’t bother me until recently when the battery life became so short, that I can’t even get through a gym session without it dying. (Coincidentally, the gym I belong to plays  TERRIBLE music.)

Zzzzt!

Zzzzt!

So, I quested to either find a new mp3 player that was cheap enough for me, or to replace the battery in my current iPod (whichever was cheaper.) Well, I am proud to say that I went with the latter option thanks to iPodjuice.com. They had a replacement kit that offered longer battery life than the stock battery and an easy to use kit that helps open the iPod (damn you Apple!) The whole thing only ran me $30 and was installed in less than 5 minutes. I plan on taking the old battery to a recycling facility so it can be properly disposed of, and for now, I am enjoying days of music at a time without having to find a charger. If you have a failing iPod, please, try to repair it yourself rather than spend the $200 to $300 that apple wants you to spend.

This entry was posted in Drivel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New iPod, or fix the old one?

  1. ipod repair says:

    I agree with this person. There are alot of other options out there to keep your ipod going.

  2. Jeannie says:

    Hi Ben,

    I saw in a forum that you work at a battery company in the US. I hope this is a good place to contact you. I am a college student working with a team on an electric snowmobile in NY. We are looking to use LiFePo4 batteries in our snowmobile, and I was wondering if you would be able to lend your expertise. Please email me if you are interested.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

