Paranoid Android?

How dare I write a post on Android? I mean, Google’s holy grail of cellphone technology turns out to be a VM that runs Java on its own, and runs on any handheld that agrees to meet its hardware requirements? I was seriously expecting more. Granted, I have no experience coding for a mobile device at all. But color me underwhelmed.

I downloaded the SDK and Eclipse to check it out (Eclipse is impressive btw) and I actually liked some of the demos. But, come on, there is a demo about the 3 types of fancy ‘Loading’ screens you can show. Does anyone else besides me not get the irony in fancy loading screens? Now, I’ve had a Blackberry and I’ve seen the iPhone; but where does this Android fall in? I mean, according to its license, any member of the OHA (open handset alliance) can just put whatever proprietary DRM lockin they want on top of it without releasing source or caring.

I really want to like it. I really want to win the $25,000 prize for making a cool app. But I’m going to need to be convince that this is going on cool hardware. For the time being, I’ll just enjoy my Nokia n800.

This entry was posted in Drivel. Bookmark the permalink.