Rocket powered locomotive!

I have to say, I was very happy when I read that BMW is making an engine which will recoup its energy losses in the form of heat by adding a sort of steam engine to the mix.

To me, this is genius. Rather than trying to get their lost energy from stupid places like the brakes, *cough* Ford, Honda, and Toyota *cough*, they’ll take the heat that an engine normally has to dissipate through the radiator or exhaust, and use it to fuel a steam engine of sorts. If you read through the article, this nets some pretty impressive fuel and efficiency savings. I really like that they used a somewhat low-tech idea to make this a reality.

So maybe I’ll hold off for a few years before I buy a shiny new BMW. All I have to do is squeeze some more miles out of my Lexus.

This entry was posted in Drivel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

